Mixing my loves of food, photography and cats…

Chocolate Creamy Lusciousness, with a Twist of Spice

Oh yes. Here's hot...soon it'll be oh-so-cold...

I’ve never understood vanilla ice cream. Every sane person’s favorite flavor is chocolate, which is mostly true for me (though cinnamon is right up their too…!) and this is why it is strange that I have not yet created my own icy chocolate treat! In this way, I took it upon myself to start from scratch. No recipe, just my brain, my mouth, and a few basic ingredients. It really is simple (3 steps: melting, mixing and freezing) and it really is obscenely scrummy. This is a dark dark chocolate cream, so I cut it with cinnamon to give the flavor more dimensions (and I have a huge soft spot for Mexican Chocolate).

You definitely want this in your freezer.

You could've licked this bowl clean, but ICY COLD is the best temperature for this spicy HOT treat!

Mexican Chocolate Cream (Iced)

(Inspired by Chocolate being better than Vanilla…)

11 oz dark chocolate
500g custard
1 tbsp milk
1/2 tsp cocoa powder
1 tsp cinnamon

  1. Melt the chocolate gently, with a spoonful of the custard and the milk. Stir until smooth and creamy. Allow to cool for 10 mins.
  2. Add melted chocolate to custard, cinnamon and cocoa powder and mix until smooth as silk. Add more cinnamon to taste.
  3. Freeze in an ice cream machine, or freeze and stir every couple of hours.
  4. Wow. Enjoy with hot pumpkin bread, or any light dish that needs a hint of exotic darkness…

Serving suggestion here is more than a suggestion- it's a demand. Get it on that pumpkin bread!

Leave a comment