Mixing my loves of food, photography and cats…

“Would you like to Mince By?”

A Pile of Pies- oh my oh my!

Here are the long lost mince pies I seemed to have forgotten to post when it was actually the festive season…. but no worries- they are here now! They featured earlier crumbled in my Christmas Ice Cream, as well as in many happy bellies this year! They really were better than store bought, and were hugely fun to make! So Easy, and you can cut any shape out of pie dough to place on top…..! Using the method described below, you can really make any miniature pie, for tea parties, snack time, or just for the enjoyment that it’s mini.

For all the Americans- “mince” in terms of the British mince pie means a delicious sticky sweetness made of orange peel, raisins, spices, apple and joy. It fills many a warm pie around Xmas time, and it enjoyed by all. A mince pie is best served with vanilla ice cream, or brandy butter (my preference) or both. Brandy butter is just butter, brandy, and sugar, and is therefore a very delicious thing.

God I miss Christmas!

All the tools you need for one delicios moment after another...!

Mince Pies

1 package shortcrust pastry

1 jar mince meat (I chose cranberry brandy flavor… there are lots of varieties I feel)

  1. Roll out pastry until as thick as you desire (about as thick as 1/8″ I think, though I grew up with cm!)
  2. Using a circular cookie cutter or a glass, cut circles out of the dough, and arrange them in a muffin pan, pressing them in gently so they are even.
  3. Fill the dough-filled nooks just about full with the mince.
  4. Cut out any other shape you desire from the extra dough, and arrange on top of the mince. Press into place. Stars work nicely as they join together and form a cap…!
  5. Bake until golden.
  6. Serve as described about! Perhaps even invent a brandy ice cream to accompany them…

This Christmas was all about stars...!

Leave a comment