Mixing my loves of food, photography and cats…

Chin chin to Crabbies!

Crabbies and lemon- a grand taste friendship!

This summer, my lovely cousin Graham and I have become increasingly fascinated by a sneaky new beverage called “Crabbies.” Manufactured in Glasgow, Crabbies is a classy alcoholic ginger beer, delicious on its own, or made into a Moscow Mule with a bit of vodka and some lemon. Anyway, I made it my mission today to figure out how to make this beverage into a sorbet, much in the realm of my Pimms Sorbet. I think I was quite successful, having invented this recipe myself! I added a hint of lemon to make it reminiscent of the Moscow Mule. If you are in America without Crabbies itself, you can find another boozy ginger beer, or make one yourself (one shot of vodka to bottle/can should do the trick!). Please do not use ginger ale- it isn’t the same thing at all!

CHIN CHIN GRAHAM! 🙂

Crabbies Sorbet

(Dedicated to cousins everywhere)

400g granulated sugar

800ml water

juice of 1 lemon

1 bottle (500ml) Crabbies/alternative boozy ginger beer

1) Boil the sugar with the water and lemon until sugar dissolves. Simmer for about 5 minutes.

2) Take off the heat and stir in the Crabbies, Allow to cool.

3) Either place in ice cream machine to churn, or in a suitable container and freeze, stirring vigorously every few hours until the consistency you prefer. ENJOY! Serve with lemon wedge, or in a lemon peel, to be truly classy.

Served in a lemon peel makes Crabbies a special treat in its own little bowl!

3 responses

  1. Christie

    freaking Crabbies, I have been trying to find it everywhere in San Diego, to no avail! Alas, alack, it would have been nice today in the heat.

    Miss you!!

    August 18, 2010 at 4:02 am

    • Thank you so much for introducing me to it, that summery day in Glasgee! 🙂 x

      August 31, 2010 at 10:56 pm

  2. I googled “Moscow Mule” sorbet to get here.

    And Christies, you can just use “ginger beer” with a shot of vodka. It’s damned near impossible to find ginger beer with ACTUAL alcohol in it, in the USA.

    January 25, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Leave a comment